Future Focused Coaching

Shenita Sanders, CPPC

Can’t We All Just Get Along? No really, I’m Serious! Part 2


Anyone that knows me, is well aware that I live by the philosophy of , “Live and Let Live!”  My heart truly believes that everyone has the right to live a life that is most authentic to their spirit.  Rarely, will I ever join in unproductive debates about politics, religion, or things that I believe are wrong about a particular person.  For as long as I can remember, my mind focuses on discussing ideas and possibilities rather than problems and negativity. But once in a blue moon, I find it hard to remain silent about a particular situation.  So for those of you that normally read my blog posts, I warn you now that this post will have some differences.

I’m sure there are very few people that have not heard about the death of Travon Martin and the involvement of George Zimmerman.  There have been plenty of moments when secretly I have wept for not only Travon and his family, but also the state of humanity.

Over the past few weeks, I have heard so many bizarre and disturbing details that for my emotional sanity, I have purposefully stayed away from any news concerning the case.  That was until this morning.

I was checking my email and I saw a news story about Spike Lee apologizing for a retweet.  Curiosity got the best of me and I clicked on the link to read the story.  Needless to say, I was horrified at what I read. Spike Lee retweets the incorrect address of George Zimmerman to his twitter followers. Consequently displacing an elderly couple in their 70’s. OMG! It is my understanding that this couple feared for their physical and emotional safety.  Could you imagine walking to your mailbox and receiving hate mail from strangers, or stepping outside your door and seeing strange packages from people you do not know?  What is the likelihood that this elderly couple in their 70’s tweet and facebook? Literally, you go to bed feeling reasonably safe only to wake up and discover that you are the most hated person in America and not knowing what you did to whomever to upset them.

Here’s the point of this long rant. Adding hatred to perceived hate will not bring  justice, peace, or healing. What was Spike Lee and Rosanne Barr thinking? I really would like to hear them say what positive outcome they hoped for by giving what they thought was George Zimmerman’s address. In my opinion, here we have two celebrities that have a well documented  histories of public scandal and feeling misunderstood.  I’m pretty sure there was a time in their careers that the media and the jury of public opinion have mercilessly crucified them, justified or not.  But rarely have I heard of anyone being persecuted or judged, later tell stories of how much they appreciated that season persecution.

Other than justice, peace, and healing for everyone involved, I pray most for Trayvon Martin’s life to serve as a powerful reminder of why love is so very important. The reason why stereotypes and racial profiling is tolerated and used by us all, (be honest with yourself here) is because of our resistance to step outside of our comfort zones and get to know people that are different from ourselves.  That doesn’t mean that you will like everyone, but you will at least have a working knowledge of the differences that make each person unique.

WAKE UP people! Start loving yourselves so that you are not quick to focus on what you see as a problem in someone else.  Get rid of all people and things that feed negativity into your spirit. Start asking yourself why someone or something has you so angry. Love yourself enough to grow through the experience and remember to be patient with others in their journey.  And never forget how love changed you for the better!

Are you willing to change the not-so-nice parts of your personality?

Future Focused

Leave a Reply

