Stage 4 of Grief: Depression

Stage 4 of the Grief Cycle is Depression. We have all been here a time or two in our lives. With respect to relationships, individuals in this phase are letting go of all hope of reconciliation with their ex. This new awareness can bring with it a whole host of issues. For example, isolation from family and friends. Depression can affect people in different ways. For instance, sleeplessness/sleeping too much, substance abuse, or overeating/loss of appetite. But the most destructive aspect of depression, is irrational thinking. It is important that you stay away from negative thoughts such as, “I don’t deserve happiness” “It was all my fault” or “Life will never be good again.” Make it a priority to reach out to healthy people. Even though alone time is good, remember, a healthy life is about balance.
How has depression changed your day-to-day life?
Future Focused

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s