Future Focused Coaching

Shenita Sanders, CPPC

Love’s Toll Bridge


We all pay a price for love. Some more than others. The human heart is a tricky organ. It wants what it wants. At times, without our permission or acknowledgement. But then there are those of us that will do almost anything to feel love, acceptance, or respect.  Think about it, we spend money we don’t have, to buy things we don’t need. Or, we compromise who we are for the sake of a relationship. Whichever the case, many of us can look back and see the high and painful price we pay to feel loved.

One of the important questions I ask myself  is, “Does this relationship make me a better person?” In my past, I used to be a workaholic. To the determent of many relationships and my health.  I was so in love with the idea of being successful that everything else came second. I woke up one day feeling completely disconnected from myself and life around me. I was so busy being who I thought everyone needed me to be, that I didn’t even know who I was anymore. It was then that I realized, I had to change, and fast.

What kind of love does your heart crave? What has been the cost? Has that love made you a better person? If that love is taking it’s emotional toll on you, then I think it’s time to look into taking a different road.

 

What price have you paid for the sake of love?

Future Focused

 

Toll Bridge

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Love’s Toll Bridge

  1. Kathy Crawford
    April 1, 2014

    I reply with the knowledge in which every encounter, rather it positive vs negative, it all has it’s purpose. My heart knows many different levels of LOVE, that being the love of my children, my family (parents, siblings, etc.), love for dear friends, love of caring for others through my careers, as well as the actually ‘intimate’ love in which one all seeks I believe. Even through failed relationships … in retrospect, I learn from each and every one. Have no regrets or resentments. Do not play the ‘blame game’ shall we say. Just learned very valuable lessons. Therefore, I seem to not actually have a ‘view’ of ‘cost’ per say with regards to what my heart has ‘paid’. There is no price of my heart… it gives, it receives, it hurts at times (yes), and it is ‘over flowing’ at times. I have learned that the love of oneself is always to be first prior to ever being healthy for any other kind of love. Once this is achieved then and only then does one have to capacity to …give of their heart & love of a full and complete nature. As I have grown through all the phases throughout my life, I am most grateful daily that I not only LOVE with my HEART on a personal level within a circle of persons’, however, my Love goes far beyond and has reached to the level of my HEART feeling, sending, showing LOVE to the … ‘UNIVERSE’! Always sending the message of the greatest need of all… which I consider to be that of a culture noted as …’ONE LOVE’!

    So … there’s me, in a nutshell, laying my HEART & LOVE out here for the world to see! And am truly blessed beyond measure for all my life’s experiences.. the good, the bad, and the ugly, for that is what has brought me to who I am today! …. And I am wonderful with that!

    all my heart, soul, & spirit! Kat 🙂

    Like

    • Future Focused
      April 1, 2014

      Hi there Kathy. As always, I love seeing your comments. I hear what you are saying that there is not price of your heart. I certainly have paid a high price. Not in terms of money, but I paid by losing my self-respect, personal integrity, and personal happiness. Of course, I didn’t realize this until after I was out of my toxic relationship, but I walked away from that experience feelings as though there was a part of me that was gone forever. Thank God I grew from that experience and enjoy using the lessons learned to help others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2014 by in Love, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , .
