Future Focused Coaching

Shenita Sanders, MA, CPPC

Motivation vs Inspiration


You Are Quote

Motivation and inspiration are two words that we use often but rarely grasp their important differences. As a life coach, I find myself helping clients distinguish the important differences and how they impact daily living. Let’s take a look.

Motivation helps us to accomplish goals. It uses external influences to move us closer to a desired result. For example, I need to lose weight. I am anxious about looking good in my bathing suit. This will require diet and exercise.

My motivation here is to look good in my bathing suit. My methods are diet and exercise. Chances are, I could lose motivation and will need more to complete my goal.

Inspiration is driven by an internal force that moves us closer to a desired result. We benefit from a divine guidance that takes hold of us and leads us to our goal. Inspiration has a beautiful way of connecting us to our values, purpose, and strengths. For example, I enjoy living a healthier and happier lifestyle. It’s important to make an investment into my health. As a result, I feel better about myself and I look better in my clothes.

Simply put, motivation comes from outside in and inspiration comes from inside out. One is not better than the other. However, when used properly, they both can be powerful tools for success.

What motivates or inspires you to personal greatness?                                                                                                   Future Focused

6 comments on “Motivation vs Inspiration

  1. irrationalliving
    April 7, 2015

    Hmm…I’ve heard the difference between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation, but I’m not sure if I agree that it’s a distinction between motivation and inspiration. “Inspire” means to breathe in, so I’ve always considered inspiration to be more of something that comes from the outside. What do you think?

    Like

    • Future Focused
      April 7, 2015

      Hello! Thanks for sharing. You share a great point. I agree with you. What I hope to accomplish with this post is to help people see the difference with how motivation and inspiration impact their lives. It is not my intention to make a distinction between sources of inspiration or motivation. I hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

      • irrationalliving
        April 7, 2015

        Ok I gotcha. Well, a very good and thought-provoking post nonetheless!

        Like

      • irrationalliving
        April 7, 2015

        Ok I gotcha. Well, a very good and thought-provoking post nonetheless 🙂

        Like

  2. Kathy...Tropical Woman ;)
    April 7, 2015

    Most interesting indeed! And certainly intertwined these two are indeed. In reflection upon my life, I recall at my youngest memory around eight years of age being ‘guided’… therefore ‘inspired to help a young girl crying on the sidewalk. I was ‘driven internally’ to help her in any way possible. To find out what was wrong, why the tears, how I could make her feel ‘better’! I also recall being extremely ‘driven’ not ‘guided’ (inspired) in athletics during my youth and young adult life. I would see this as more of a ‘motivation’. During the majority of my Adult Life I must add that I am most drawn to Motivational Speakers/Writers (less on the latter as I do not care to read) and my entirety on the ‘Inspirational’ side where I find myself ‘always’. It’s a very ‘spiritual guidance/path’ which I live Daily. However, ‘motivation’ plays a role indeed, no doubt.

    Thank you for this post and allowing me to not only share, moreover reveal myself in a ‘glance’… from a distance looking back and to the present.

    As always it is a pleasure reading and sharing with you. So much Gratitude for You and All That You Are. Remain Blessed Always!

    Kat 😉

    Like

    • Future Focused
      July 11, 2015

      Kathy I enjoy reading your responses. As always, I am grateful that you take time to support what I do. I learn so much from your responses. Love to you my friend. Stay blessed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2015 by in Inspiration, Motivation, Success and tagged , , .
